Email is dead?

I have become that person…that person that the social media statistics talk about. Why is this a surprise to me?

All summer I’ve been hearing other staff complain about how they want to get rid of their email address or seeing productivity websites discuss how to get less email and manage your email better, and I’m hearing that Universities are no longer giving out email addresses to their students because email is seen as irrelevant or archaic. I never understood this fully.

I just sat down to write an email to my brother. It was a very weird thing for me. It felt so odd and out-of-place. For the past several months we have communicated entirely over twitter, text, Skype and maybe 2 phone calls. You might think that we don’t talk that frequently, but we do. Oh we are very well-connected. And when I emailed him to get his feedback about why I should get an iPad (because I’m really trying to convince myself this will be a useful tool cause I want one), it felt so… impersonal.***

Somehow twitter, to me, is more direct and personal than an email. So is Facebook. How did that happen, and when?? And what are the implications of this? I wonder, how much does the current university generation agree/disagree with me?

*** on the other hand, when it comes to MPD, I LOVE EMAIL because I can avoid awkward conversations.

Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “Email is dead?

  1. silas says:

    “That” happened when social media required approval of contacts. You don’t usually get spam from FB or Twitter because for the most part you’ve specified that the people contacting you are actually your friends. It’s the closed nature that allows for such “intimacy”.

    The same goes for mobile phones and land lines. If someone weird calls you, you don’t pick up on your cell. Increasingly, fewer people pick up land line calls because they are usually unsolicited. However, those who call your cell are usually people who you’ve given your number to.

    Of course one system feels more personal than the other if we’ve invested time into specifying its boundaries for ourselves!

    • Jess W says:

      Yeah I guess I can see that – though I guess the surprising thing is the fact that I prefer calling someone instead of emailing. I had to learn to use the phone after University when my friends were scattered all around the country/world and we were never online at the same time & email was just not cutting it anymore. It was honestly a challenge to pick up the phone. I know it sounds lame haha but it’s the truth!

Leave a Reply

