Will the iPad change how we work on campus?

A few weeks ago, Russ suggested I make a list of how I think the iPad is going to change things for Campus Ministry. I’ve been thinking about it the last few weeks and I’ve come up with surprisingly little. All of my ideas that would involve the iPad would mean that our interaction in the context of evangelism would mean that our conversations would need to be more content driven. And you know what? I think that’s probably a good thing, though as far as I know at this point we really don’t have the content to make it happen.

  1. Instead of initiating a conversation using a paper + question survey, doing it with a video survey. Getting several one or two-minute clips + pictures to produce a digital Soularium.
  2. We would have immediate access to a (currently non-existent) pool of useful video clips/articles that address common misconceptions or issues by scholars/authors (like these from McManus). ALTHOUGH, the iPad doesn’t do flash and so that could pose a problem, though YouTube is doing Beta testing of their HTML5 player.
  3. Even as simple as having video trailers for books like Case for Christ, or the videos from Soul Cravings so that people can see a glimpse of the content and know it’s something they want to read. See here for an example.
  4. Having a video version of the Knowing God Personally booklet. I love the new “God Tools” iPhone app by CCC, but I can’t help but think that if the KGP was put together like a compelling video more students would feel comfortable sharing it (because it’s a medium they’re used to).

Really, I guess it’s all about video in my opinion. Video & ease of use (less awkward than a laptop). If you handed me a Case for Christ as a student I would have been like “you have got to be kidding me. Do you know how many hundreds of pages I have to read for my classes?” I would have had to be MAJORLY interested the topic to read it. In fact, I picked up Case for Christ as a student and only got half way through it and still have never finished it (even though I know it’s a very well-written book and has really important facts that we all should know).

Tagged , , ,

3 thoughts on “Will the iPad change how we work on campus?

  1. truthmedia says:

    Just an FYI, we’ll be converting those videos on the crave site to use html5 so it will work on iStuff. 🙂

  2. Russ says:

    Great thoughts Jess. Thanks for thinking this through.

Leave a Reply

