iPad & Campus Min, will anything come of it?

Ever since Steve announced the iPad, I’ve been pondering, what could this mean for campus ministry?

I love technology. I’ve always been nerdy like that. I’m also an early adopter in my heart, though my financial status as a student didn’t really permit me to adopt every new thing, which is a very good thing. I’ve had friends say to me more than once, “JESS! Stop lusting after [enter tech/Apple item here]!” (Lust was the perfect word to describe it).

I remember April 1, 2004. The day Google released Gmail; I was in 12th grade. Within a week I had an invite because I followed Shellen’s blog, who worked at google at the time & is now the maker of Brizzly (he, Ev & Biz are ppl I’ve been following since forever & you should too). He kindly gave me an invite and I felt like an internet rockstar.

But lately, it’s not so much (ok a little?) about just having “the item” but how it could make my life easier. When it comes to Campus Ministry the following tools have completely changed the way my work gets done:

  • Gmail (have you ever tried collaborating with people using Hotmail or another non-threaded email client? awful)
  • Google Docs
  • Google Wave
  • My laptop & now my iPhone (I couldn’t imagine being a staff person without my laptop or at least my iPhone. As a new staff, there were so many times I pulled up the Resources Wiki to find the answers to a question someone asked me… (Russ (anyone??) can we have an android/iPhone app for the wiki?)).

Do you think the iPad could/will/might change the way we do things on campus? What are some of your ideas for how we could use it? Do you think it’s even worth our time to consider it as a potential tool?

4 thoughts on “iPad & Campus Min, will anything come of it?

  1. Nick says:

    I saw some people who were canvassing for TD Bank issuing iPads. They had what looked like a custom in-house app that had information resources but also had fields where they could input my information if I wanted them to contact me. It could be a really cool device that when loaded with a bunch of C4C videos, books to reference in iBooks, and a place to gather information about people directly into a database would be a great workflow while having relevant content available for young adults you meet.

    • Jess W says:

      Hmm, that reminds me of a report I read that was commenting on non-christian’s perspective of Christians using a Seinfeld clip.

      We could do something like that where we use short clips to start conversations.

      BUT that can be done using a laptop right now, it’s just more awkward.

      • Nick says:

        Awkward is the key point. I think it needs to become really comfortable and convenient or I can see a decent conversation being derailed by trying to flip through windows or not being able to load pages because you aren’t in WiFi. Just a thought.

  2. Russ says:

    Would love to see a post on your top 5 ideas for an iPad in ministry.

Leave a Reply

