getting to know you, getting to know all about you

As I’m heading back into full-time MPD/MPM in the next little bit, I did a little blog searching for some tips on some ways I can improve my MPM. I know it’s worth my while to work to keep a supporter, but I also know that 80% of a person’s support generally comes from 20% of the people (or something like that). So it is wiser for me to pay special attention to certain supporters who seem to care more and are really interested in my work.

I found this blog that gives some great tips. One in particular that I found useful was for getting information about your supporters, so you can send them birthday/anniversary cards etc. The author sent out a form for their supporters to fill out and return. Only 25% returned the form. Because of this she did some research:

In one study, a sales company’s response to their form increased significantly when they changed their typical form to a form that reads like a letter (the second example).  Some questions you might want to ask: children’s names, church name, birthdays, anniversaries, phone numbers, times to call, hobbies, place of employment, and definitely prayer requests.

So instead of mailing them out to all your supporters, she also suggests sending out an editable PDF.

However, in the age of Google Forms, I think that makes the most sense & what I’m going to do. I’m now planning to send out an email with the form embedded in the email & also send a small form via snail mail to the people I know are less e-mail friendly or are older and don’t use it at all.

I’ll let you know how it goes. I’m interested to see what percentage actually responds.

Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “getting to know you, getting to know all about you

  1. Russ says:

    Would love to hear your results. It’s a great idea.

  2. saltnlight says:

    Jess,

    Thank you for visiting eQuipping for eMinistry and mentioning my post. I did not know about Google forms. I just followed your link and I think you have revolutionized the way I am going to do email surveys and coordinating a team for my blog. WOW!

    I would love to have you either comment on the original post or be a guest author about your experience in using Google forms for getting to know your donors.

Leave a Reply

